Even wondered what happens when you block a user from Chat in Gmail. Was wondering and we did a little research and this is what we found out. Most of us use Gmail and chat from right there. There are those annoying people who you know you just have to block.
Firstly, for those who do not know how to block someone in Google Chat. This is what you need to do really.
Once you login to Gmail hover over the name of the person you want to block and click the down arrow beside Videos & More. The last option is block click on that to block a person.
When you block a person this is what happens. You won’t appear online in your blocked contacts friends list and your blocked contact will not appear on your friends list.
This will however not affect any emailing capabilities. You can still communicate via email but cannot chat and you do not appear in their friends list.
So if you used to chat often this is one way for the other person to know they have been blocked.
An original post by